The History of CTRA

The Canadian Therapeutic Recreation Association was incorporated in August of 1996.

The Canadian Therapeutic Recreation Association came into existence with grass-roots support from across the country. People with different educational backgrounds and from different health related work settings came together with a willingness to work together to resolve common issues. This group recognized the need to create an organization to unite therapeutic recreation practitioners across the country.

The founders of the Association were: Denise Alexander, Rhonda Booth, Micheline Comitz, Jane Hastie, Heather McDonald, Valarie McLean-Bakowski, Darlene Murphy, Patrick Reddick, Sherry Shaefer and Michele Telio.

On June 18-20, 1998 the first Annual Canadian Therapeutic Recreation Conference was held in Winnipeg, Manitoba. The first elected board of directors took office at the end of the first Annual General Meeting of membership. The first elected board of directors for the 1998/99 membership year was: Colleen Hood (President), Nathalie Guerin (Vice President), Val McLean-Bakowski (Secretary), Barbara Smith (Treasurer), Helene Driscoll (Western Director), Wendy Stewart (Prairie Director), Flora Masella (Central Director), Patrick Reddick (Maritime Director), Lisa Ostiguy (Certification Director) and Rhonda Booth (Special Projects Director).

For further information please read the following articles:

TR in Canada Article – 1994

History of the Canadian Therapeutic Recreation Association – By Patrick J. Reddick

Translate »
Scroll to Top